Tift Girls, Lee Boys Dominate Tift Invitational

Tifton – Coach Marci Honeycutt had to be pleased with the results of the 13th Annual Tift Invitational Meet held at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College on Saturday.  The Tift County Lady Devils ran for an average time of 22:49 on the course, finishing the day with six runners in the Top 12 finishers.

Elizabeth Funderburke paces the field at 13th Annual Tift Invitational. Shine Rankin Jr./SGSN

Colquitt’s Elizabeth Funderburke would cross the finish line first, pacing the field with a time of 19:14. But Cross Country is both an individual and team sport, and her teammates needed to finish as a group fastest. Instead, after Katherine McGarr from Crisp Academy finished second individually with a time of 21:04, Tift would bring across a foursome of Sloane Fletcher, Ashley Golden, Madison Honeycutt, and Sarah Willis. Berrien’s Emily Boyd would finish 7th, with Ramsay Miller from Lee and  Jamey Medders from neighboring Worth, and Tiftarea Academy’s Kaycee Goodman rounding out the top 10. Tift’s Blakely Bergeron and Lisbeth Cortes would finish 1th and 12th.


In the girls team results, Berrien would finish 2nd, followed by Colquitt, Coffee and Worth filling out the top five.

On the Boy’s side, Lee County would dominate the field. Robert Grooms, a Lee County Junior, would pace the field with a time of 16:46. Cody Reid of Coffee would be almost a full minute behind him, turning in a time of 17:37. Jake Merritt of Colquitt would finish 3rd with Lee County teammates rounding out the top 5.  Samad Mills and Colby Jones were separated by just one second as Jones came in at 18:25 to finish fifth. Tift’s best finisher, Dillon Kemeness, would finish 12th. Lee would take the team win, with Coffee coming in 2nd and Berrien finishing 3rd. Colquitt and Tift would round out the top 5.

The Middle Schools would run next, with Hunter Reid of Coffee taking the boys individual win with a time of 11:32 for the 3200 Meters course. He would be chased by Reese Fye of Lee Middle (West) and Bryce Stephens of Eighth Street Middle School (Tift), Berrien’s Ladarius Dumas, and Lee’s Ben Phillips in 5th. Lavida Hall (ESMS) came in 6th, Berrien’s Morgan Bolmer, Andrew Selph of Coffee, Cody Pezent from Cook, and Valdosta Middle’s Mason Thompson would complete the Top 10. The top 18 finishers on the boy’s side were under 13 minutes, including a new PR for first year runner Bryce Stewart. Stewart finished 14th but eclipsed 13:00 for the first time with his 12:47 finish.

The team results for the middle school boy’s ended with Berrien Middle taking the trophy, and Lee, Tift, Coffee, and Valdosta finishing in the Top 5.

On the Girls’ side, ESMS was on top. Emily Golden set the pace at 11:52, followed by teammate Caroline Vickers at 12:26. Worth’s Brianna Zupko, and Lee teammates Caroline Taylor and Annah Norman would round out the Top 5.  Tift would take the Girls title, followed by Berrien, Lee, Cook and Colquitt.

For complete results, check out the milesplit page for the event here.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login